Nail Design / Nails

Summer Nail Design: Small Floral Clusters with Half Moons

image

Spring is over but it doesn’t mean the flowers have to go, all the bold and bright colors of the warmer days make the perfect combination for floral prints. Since I finally had some down time last Friday, I decided that time was best spent doing my nails.Β 

This is my first time doing floral clusters, I wasn’t sure how it would turn out because the pattern is so random, but I can say I’m rather satisfied with the end result. It looks a lot better after I added the gold dots, it really brings all the bold colors together and make them look like flowers.

Since the floral clusters look so busy, doing all 10 nails with the same pattern would be an overkill. I think they would look the best as accent nails against other ones with matching color scheme.

image

image

image

Colors I used(from left to right):
Zoya – Ziv
Deborah Lippmann – Amazing Grace
China Glaze – Lemon Fizz
L’Oreal – Tangerine Crush
Zoya – Moxie
China Glaze – Unfortunately I lost the label on this polish, so I don’t know what the name is, it has slight shimmer to it.
OPI – I Saw…U Saw…We Saw…Warsaw

image

7 thoughts on “Summer Nail Design: Small Floral Clusters with Half Moons

  1. It would be sooooo great if you would list your nail brands and colors used. Sometimes (and I bet you know the feeling), you see a color on a mani and you almost begin to salivate over how pretty and glossy and smooth and bold it is and you want that polish bad. Bad enough to add to your lemming list. But, alas, the blogger didn’t give specifics and you find yourself a little sad. Sort of admiring the kittens at a pet store but you can’t take one home with you. Okay, bad analogy. But I did have the near saliva going for both the maroon and blue colors you used and can see from your picture that they are Zoya and OPI, respectively, but no polish names makes knowing the brands not very helpful. I’m also curious if you freehanded the pretty, gold lines (which tied in the centers of the flowers perfectly), or if you used a tape technique of some sort? Nearly every nail blog gives the polish name information and the really great nail blogs also talk about the technique(s) they used. Some even say how many layers of polish they used, how the polish formula applied, if they used top coat and, if they did, what kind, and even if they took the pictures in the sun or the shade. With nail polish mania sweeping the world, those of us who troll the nail blog appreciate every crumb of information we can get to incorporate into our own manis with high hopes of having ours turns out like the ones on the blogs. (A girl can dream.) Thank you for listening! Delphi

    • Hi Delphi! Thank you for the feedback πŸ™‚ I usually try to include the names of the colors I used, but yesterday I forgot to. Opps. I’ll try to add them now πŸ™‚

      The Zoya Maroon color is Moxie and the OPI blue is I Saw U Saw We Saw Warsaw. Both have great forumla and the colors are lovel, you can see our swatch & review for both polishes here:
      http://dailycharme.com/2013/05/10/zoya-2/
      http://dailycharme.com/2013/03/03/opi-euro-centrale-collection-swatches/

      The gold was painted on freehand with a stripping brush, and the flowers were were dotted on with a toothpick.

      As for the other items you suggested, we do include how many coats and formulas for our swatches & reviews session, but this particular post is meant to display a nail design that can be achieved with any combination of nail polishes you choose. An many of the polishes we use to make these designs have already been swatched and reviewed in another post πŸ™‚

      • I just realized I had the bad manners to not respond with a giant Thank You! I love the Zoya maroon and the OPI blue so it was great to know the polish names. Ready for the irony? Yes, it turns out I already own both. At least I’m consistent. I’ve seen Zoya Ziv everywhere. I keep wondering if it’s a dupe for Orly’s Luxe which I also own. Guess I’ll have to see if I can find a comparison for those two on the web. I do go on. Thanks, again, so much for the added information! Delphi πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

