Nail Design / Nails

Geometric Cutouts with Black, White & Gold

wpid-2013-06-01-12-08-37_deco.jpg

It’s June! We’ve been ready for the bold shades of the summer here in California, but now we’ve got gorgeous blooms to compliment the look! I found these lovely and brilliant peonies at the local Fresh & Easy on Friday, I absolutely love these flowers andI know I had to buy some for the weekend!

Lately I’ve been rather obsessed with nail designs with geometric shapes, and cutouts that exposes nontraditional parts of your natural nail. I painted the black nail with rectangular cut out first, but decided to be adventurous and test out other geometric shapes.

Because of the variety of shapes, I decided to keep the color palette simple, just black and white with OPI’s Goldeneye, and of course the color of my natural nails.Β I’ve found that with these cutouts, it looks much better if you give your nails a very jelly-like appearance, otherwise it just looks dry, and possibly stained. (There will be a post on how to achieve natural, healthy looking nails with a jelly-like appearance in the next few days!)

image

image

image

image

The colors I used:
Deborah Lippmann – Amazing Grace
OPI – Black Onyx
OPI – Goldeneye
Essie – Mademoiselle

image

6 thoughts on “Geometric Cutouts with Black, White & Gold

Leave a Reply

