Nail Design / Nails

Mod Dots in Summer Shades

image

I’ve been obsessed with the jelly-like look of Japanese manicures, it gives nails such a natural, healthy glow! I’ve tried various ridge filling base coats and none of them worked as well as OPI’s Nail Envy. Two coats of it already gives nail that smooth jelly appearance, it’s wonderful!

This cute retro/mod design was actually inspired by a wonderful nail artist I follow on Instagram @ironnail_kanako. I’ve always had a thing for bold prints and immediately fell in love with her design. The color palette combined with the simple mod dots makes me think of lounging around the pool, it’s perfect for the summer!

image

The design itself was actually very easy to execute, what I find difficult was just letting the base coat + Mademoiselle dry without ruining them. Giving nails this jelly look requires more layers of polish than usual, so the drying time is definitely a bit longer, especially with Essie’s Mademoiselle which has an exceptionally long drying time. (I only used one coat of it too, since it wasn’t drying fast enough).

The colors I used:
OPI – My Vampire Is Buff
OPI – I Saw…U Saw…We Saw…Warsaw
OPI – My Paprika Is Hotter Than Yours
China Glaze – Happy Go Lucky
Essie – Mademoiselle

image

2 thoughts on “Mod Dots in Summer Shades

Leave a Reply

