Review & Swatch

Nail Polish Storage Solution!

20130225-160328.jpg

After a long search, I finally found the perfect unit to store my growing collection of nail polishes!
I’ve spent a long time looking at various storage solutions, and although the Helmer from Ikea is very popular, I didn’t want to have another piece of furniture in the room. The EXPEDIT twin drawer insert for their shelving unit is actually another great storage option if you already have the bookshelf, and at $25 a pop (for the insert), they aren’t too expensive. However, I wanted the storage to be close to my computer desk since that’s where I do my nails, and the shelves I have are outside in the living room.

Then I found this 3 Drawer Organizer Cube from Michael’s Recollections series (seems to be nick named Melmer on all the polish blogs). The size is roughly 14″ x 14″ x 14″, it is small enough to sit on my computer desk, but large enough to fit all the polishes I have so far in just one drawer.

It retails for $39.99 at Michael’s, but don’t forget to check for coupons on their website before buying. They had a 50% off any one item coupon when I bought mine, making it cheaper than the Ikea’s drawer inserts! Like things you buy from Ikea, you have to build thing one yourself. All the pieces comes in one box, the instruction is fairly straight forward and easy to follow, it took me about 20 minutes to build.

As for the quality, I think it’s generally not bad for a storage unit bought from Michael’s, although there are definitely room for improvements. These drawers’s biggest problem is that they do not sit on rails or have any wheels. Instead, they rest and slide on these plastic ledges which is usually fine, but once it’s weighed down by all the nail polishes, it’s not as easy to slide the drawers out, and makes an unpleasant screeching sound.

Overall though, this is a pretty good compact unit to put your nail polishes. These are also stack-able, in case your collection outgrows one, you can always buy more and stack them together!

20130225-160339.jpg 20130225-160347.jpg

4 thoughts on “Nail Polish Storage Solution!

Leave a Reply

